Scared to Set Boundaries? How to Set Boundaries to Improve Your Relationships and Increase Peace of Mind

Sarah Saweikis
Curious
Published in
10 min readSep 22, 2020

--

Photo by Isaiah Rustad via Unsplash

For years I avoided setting boundaries because I was scared. I was scared I would be seen as a bitch, as difficult, and I was scared of causing a stir and being disliked. I wanted to avoid conflict, and sweep shit under the rug. The result? I stewed in silence and let resentment build, causing chronic stress that could have been avoided with a few quick but uncomfortable conversations.

I probably could have saved some money in therapy bills had I learned to set boundaries sooner.

Some people don’t like a boundary- setter. But life is infinitely easier and better when you don’t care if people like you or not. My goal is no longer to be liked, it’s to be authentic, and to find people that connect with the real me. This feels like freedom after living on the other side for so long.

Also, plot twist: most people won’t care when you set a boundary, and they’ll be glad to know. Most people don’t want to intentionally disturb others.

Way too often, we’re made to feel guilty for setting boundaries in our lives. We believe we are good people, and good people want to help others, be accommodating, empathetic, and generous.

--

--

Sarah Saweikis
Curious

Writer exploring what it means to live well. Weirdos welcome here. Sign up for my free newsletter at https://sarahsaweikis.substack.com/