Signs You’re a Toxic Partner and How You Can Change

Emily Stroia
Curious
Published in
4 min readSep 28, 2020

--

Self-work is the hardest work but worth it.

Photo by Tommy van Kessel 🤙 on Unsplash

Do you ever notice how we tend to shift responsibility of a toxic relationship solely to the other person? It’s so easy to think that if we just end this toxic relationship we no longer will have the problems we have or better yet — not attract another toxic partner again. Have you ever stopped and asked yourself why are you attracting toxic partners?

This is a question I asked myself many times in the past. I thought I was destined to be with only broken toxic people because of my childhood. I also thought that if I just stopped this pattern of behavior of falling for a toxic person that I’d someday have a successful healthy relationship.

And in some ways I was right.

Attracting a toxic person in your life is very different from signing up for a toxic relationship. I think people who are naturally empathic and sensitive tend to attract people who are looking for support, advice and nurturance. In a sense, you are a healer.

People feel safe with you so much they naturally gravitate towards you. It’s a gift to be someone people feel safe around but it’s up to you to learn how to use this gift and know your boundaries.

--

--

Emily Stroia
Curious

Psych therapist in training. I write about mental health, trauma, well-being, and spirituality. Stay for a while. www.emilystroia.com