Sonder: The Concept You’ve Never Heard of That Can Enrich Your Life

What if we saw strangers in a more loving light?

Razane
Curious

--

Photo by Marcin Dampc from Pexels

“It’s a strange feeling, realising that other people you don’t know have their own, full lives that don’t touch yours.”
Mackenzi Lee, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

I was raised by parents who were very distrustful and skeptical of the world around them.

I imbibed this skepticism and noticed throughout my life, especially into my late teens and early twenties, that I was starting to become a rather bitter young woman.

Sadly, I seemed to be consumed by the idea that only ill could come from embracing strangers.

In my mind, you were guilty until proven innocent.

This greatly affected my relationships. I struggled to make friends or connect with anyone new for years because I was so scared of getting hurt.

But I knew, deep down, that this unwarranted distrust of people was unhealthy and I sought to change it.

What is Sonder?

The concept of global citizenship wasn’t one I grew up with and the idea of Sonder, “the…

--

--

Razane
Curious

A 20-something global citizen and polyglot writing about Personal Development, Work, and Mental Health. https://razanecherk.carrd.co/