The Antidote for Trying

A real conversation between a part of myself and my Essence.

Jordin James
Curious
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Photo by JD Mason

I have been trying so hard to get back to that good feeling.

Or at least out of this bad one.

I have done my research. I have read the books and listened to the interviews and journaled and taken all my vitamins.

And now this plexiglass is here.

It’s a spring day, and I can see the path outstretched before me. The good feeling is just on the other side of this plexiglass. I can see it. But no matter how hard I try to get around it, I can’t.

I slam my fists against it. I heave the weight of my body on to it. Flailing my limbs in a restless fit. Tears stream down my cheeks. I scream. I collapse.

“I’m trying…I’m trying…”

“I know, sweetie,” comes a voice, “I know you are trying.”

I look up. It’s Love.

I know Love well enough by now that I don’t resist their presence.

“Why is this plexiglass here? Why can’t I get around it?”

Love looks at the plexiglass, and then at me. “I’m not exactly sure why it is here. But I do know why you can’t get around it.”

--

--

Jordin James
Curious

Worthiness coach, writer, parts work expert. Replacing loneliness with belonging, one part at a time. Find more: Jordinjames.com // Socials: @justjordinjames