The Best Meditation Techniques for ADHD

Work with your mind, not against it.

The Clumsy Gypsy
Curious

--

Image by Andrea Piacquadio. Taken from Pexels free stock images.

“I’m too ADD to meditate.”
“I tried, but I wasn’t good at it.”
“I don’t have the right personality for meditation.”

In nearly ten years of a fascination with meditation that led me from college classes to monasteries in Nepal and ashrams in India to starting my own meditation groups in new cities, I’ve heard those three sentences more times than I care to count. Each one of them is based on a misinterpretation of meditation, 100% of the time.

Meditation is often not about ‘quieting the mind’ or ‘thinking about nothing’. A long attention span is in no way a prerequisite to meditation (although regular meditation practice may lengthen your attention span). Anyone can learn to meditate, and it’s not possible to be ‘bad’ at meditation.

Still, for those of us with ADHD, sitting down and turning inward can seem like a daunting task. Luckily, there are innumerable ways to practice meditation. The Buddha himself said that there are 84,000 paths to reach enlightenment.

Here are three meditation techniques, two of which were taught to me by Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, one of the most accomplished meditation masters of our time. I believe these techniques are particularly…

--

--

The Clumsy Gypsy
Curious

Long-term low-budget nomad writing about travel mishaps and adventures, relationships, sharing economy, and whatever else strikes my fancy that day.