The Most Peaceful Time of My Life Was Waking up at 4 AM Every Day

The bizarre power of 12 am to 6 am.

Tim Denning
Curious
Published in
6 min readJul 5, 2021

--

Photo by Donny Jiang on Unsplash

There is beauty in darkness.

I experienced both the darkness at 4 am, and the darkness of the mind. Earlier in my life, I used to wake up at 4 am every day. It’s a weird habit, I know. And I don’t recommend you do it every day. I’m not one of those self-help guys peddling snake oil hacks you can’t actually implement.

But I don’t regret waking up at 4 am. It taught me a lot, although the lessons for you will be unexpected.

You get a head start on the day

My schedule was simple: go to bed at 9 pm and wake up at 4 am. (The fact I wasn’t sleeping for 8 hours is a huge problem looking back.)

I’d go straight to my home office after waking up. I’d lift the blind and look out the window. Total darkness. Not the kind of darkness you get in the evening while you have dinner. No, it was pitch black. You couldn’t see a thing, and I loved it.

At this time of morning the after dark creatures were out playing. I had bats in the tree above my home. I had possums that would run underneath my office window. Often the possums would stop while darting from one side to the other and look up at me. It was a weird experience…

--

--

Tim Denning
Curious

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb