The Office Is Dead, And That’s Great News

The bygone cubicle era gives you more freedom than ever.

Clément Bourcart
Curious

--

Didn’t get the memo? The office is closed. Photo by Igor Kiianchuk from Pexels

The office is dead. There, I said it.

When was the last time you stepped foot in a tall building with glass windows and rows of desks full of employees chained to them?

Exactly.

I went into the office once to pick up my laptop at my last job, and never returned (except to hand it back when I quit eight months later).

I never thought that would be possible just a year ago. Now, it’s the new normal.

There’s a new way of doing things that’s proven to work. This is the start of the future for knowledge workers.

A no brainer for employers

My previous employer told all staff on a company call they wouldn’t renew the lease for their fancy, five-story city-center office space.

No shit, Sherlock!

Why would you spend tons of money to pay for premium real estate, when the vast majority of your office workers can operate from anywhere with a laptop and an internet connection?

Whilst they’re now saving hours of commute each day, and are able to use this time (and money) to better look after themselves and their families?

--

--

Clément Bourcart
Curious

Business Consultant, Growth Marketer, Project and Product Manager, Copywriter // AIForBusinesses.com 🤖