The Overlooked Benefits of Dating a Workaholic

They will pull you up to new heights of potential.

Gracia Kleijnen
Curious
Published in
6 min readJan 9, 2021

--

Sleek dressed male with side cuts hairstyle and trimmed beard, wearing blazer, watch, looking into camera determined.
Photo by Ameer Basheer on Unsplash

You’ve finished the grueling job of cutting countless vegetables for an oven dish you know your partner will enjoy. The table is set, and the kitchen tidied up. Only ten minutes left before you both can sit down and enjoy your meal together. Right before the timer rings, you receive a phone call or text message.

“I’m staying late at work today, something came up.”
“I won’t be coming home, I have a business lunch.”

I’ve gotten such messages quite often.

How would you feel if your partner cancels lunch plans with you last-minute because they have to take care of an urgent and important work-related issue? And when that urgent and important thing is resolved, the next one is lined up or time-blocked in the calendar?

If you highly value preset together-time, you might feel left aside. If you expect your partner to treat you as their number one priority, it can sting. Now I don’t expect that of mine, but I would lie if I said I am not slightly disappointed when I just spent an hour in the kitchen, expecting a second person to enjoy my divine home cooking before it gets cold or tucked away in a food box for later…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
Curious

Sheets & comics creator. Words on YT, relationships, mental health, productivity & self-development in 35+ pubs. 📕Book author: https://bit.ly/Gracia-Book