Enough is enough

The Quickest Way to Get Over Your Ex

Stop thinking about the good old days

Kimberly Fosu
Curious
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2021

--

If you broke up with someone, then there was something that wasn't working. (Photo: S. Hermann & F. Richter)

When it comes to exes who were bad on your mental and emotional health, it’s okay to think about the bad and the negative because reminiscing on the good old days keeps you stuck.

If you’ve recently been through a breakup and searched online for help, you will find advice like times heals all wound, spend time with friends, travel, or find a new hobby. Well, newsflash, time doesn’t heal all wounds and when it does, it leaves a scar. When you spend time with friends, they leave at the end of the day and a new hobby? Sure, I can start painting, but what about when I put that palette away and lay the brush down? It works when you are busy, but what happens when you aren't? You are left with your thoughts and the thought of your ex comes creeping back.

All of those things work for 15 minutes, but it doesn’t last long. Here’s what actually worked for me when I was struggling to move on with my life: The thoughts of all the things that were wrong. My ex lied at the start of our relationship. One afternoon, I went over to his place and I saw him smoking a cigarette. I knew I didn’t want to date a man who smoked, so I immediately asked him about it and he said, “I don’t really smoke. I can stop smoking whenever I want to.” I…

--

--

Kimberly Fosu
Curious

Spiritual life coach focused on spirituality, faith and inspiration. My new book "Who Am I?" is available on Amazon now. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CW1BMHLY