The Sims Gave Me My First Existential Crisis

Autumn Christian
Curious
Published in
13 min readJan 27, 2021

--

The truth of existence inside The Sims sandbox.

“Also, after people play these Sim games, it tends to change their perception of the world around them, so they see their city, house or family in a slightly different way after playing.” — Will Wright, Creator of The Sims

“It is good,” he thought “to taste for yourself everything you need to know. That worldly pleasures and wealth are not good things, I learned even as a child. I knew it for a long time, but only now have I experienced it. And now I know it, I know it not only because I remember hearing it, but with my eyes, with my heart, with my stomach. And it is good for me to know it!”
Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

Cover art belongs to EA and Maxis.

Being famous and wealthy usually doesn’t make people happy. Children with starry-eyed dreams become depressed starlets and overdose queens. Power couples divorce after a few years of being at each other’s throats in their mansion by the beach. Kanye pissing on his golden globe award after a manic episode. And many of us have reached a goal in life only to realize that obtaining it doesn’t make life any less painful or confusing. The job we so desperately wanted to have internal issues that actually made working it miserable. The girl of our dreams turned out to have an addictive personality and a bad childhood. Or maybe we realize that the girl of our…

--

--

Autumn Christian
Curious

I write about writing, existential horrors, love, and what it means to be human. https://teachrobotslove.substack.com/