There is No “Right Way” to Meditate

You know it’s working when it’s making your life way better

Emily Jennings
Curious
Published in
5 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

Image credit: Canva

There are many types of meditation. Various methodologies and philosophies around the practice come from traditions that originate throughout the world. I started meditating years ago to attempt to remove all attachments to my thoughts and desires and to see if there were limitations to my mind. Now I meditate to go deeper into myself and reality.

Other meditators will tell you that meditation is for total silence or to go into the heart space. You can even meditate to heal and focus your energy. From my observations, I’ve come to believe that meditation that is based on masculine energy is more about intellect and calming the mind, whereas meditation that is based on feminine energy is about intuition and spiritual experiences.

Some people meditate for five minutes at a time. Others meditate for hours. It’s often recommended to meditate once in the morning and once in the evening. This helps us digest our experiences. I have found that my sweet spot is about one hour at a time once per day.

If I was living in the Himalayas, I’d be happy to meditate for hours every day, but I am a single mom living in the suburbs. There is no “right way” to do it because there is no “one-size-fits-all” meditation.

--

--

Emily Jennings
Curious

I am here to confirm you're not crazy. Your life has meaning and nothing is an accident. | IG: @wellness_oneness | www.wellnessoneness.com