Three Ways to Find Motivation When You’re Running on Empty

Think about this: You sit on your deathbed. Your children come into the room to say goodbye. What do you say to them?

Tim Denning
Curious
Published in
5 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Photo by Unsplash

Motivation can quickly evaporate.

Just ask writers. We’re this weird breed of humans that spend our days smashing plastic keyboards with our delicate sanitized hands in the hope of providing a touch of inspiration to a bruised soul.

My motivation goes to zero a lot, despite readers thinking I have Tony Robbins’ self-helps gods looking out for me. I’m just as susceptible to a sudden loss of motivation as the next person. Here’s what to do if your motivation is running out fast.

Create a Zoom-out Moment to Disrupt Your Thinking

This is a bizarre form of motivation I’ve categorized as “Mortality Motivation.” You won’t find it listed in the book ‘Think And Grow Rich’ or part of the odd documentary ‘The Law of Attraction.’ I posted this exercise on various social media platforms and it left some people speechless. Imagine this for a second if you’ve lost motivation (original post here).

You sit on your deathbed. Your children come into the room to say goodbye. What do you say to them?

--

--

Tim Denning
Curious

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb