What My 83-Year-Old Great Grandma Taught Me About The Meaning of Life

It’s simpler than you think

Omar Itani
Curious

--

Photo by Juan Pablo Serrano Arenas on Pexles.com

My mother tells me the story and it always makes me smile.

I was two at the time and my only recollection of it is in the form of a photo that was snapped a little under thirty years ago.

We were sitting on the balcony — me, in a toddler’s yellow chair facing the rail, and her, my great Grandma, in an armchair next to me. Mom walked up to us and called us in for dinner. Grandma looked up at her and said:

“I’d like to watch the sunset before we go inside. It’s a day in my life that is now gone. I want to live it until the very last minute.”

Dr. Bruce Lipton, a cell biologist, and spiritual lecturer explains that the first seven years of your childhood are critical to how you develop through your teenage and adult life. According to his published research, “the brain predominantly operates in vibration or frequency called theta for the first seven years. Theta is a frequency lower than consciousness.”

He compares the brain to an information processor computer hard drive and reveals that by observing our family members and communities in the first seven years, we…

--

--

Omar Itani
Curious
Writer for

Exploring the art of slow, simple, and intentional living. I post here every day: https://www.instagram.com/omaritaniwrites/ More at: https://www.omaritani.com