How to Marie-Kondo your digital life

What the Heck Is Digital Spring Cleaning

And why you should do it

Burk
Curious
Published in
6 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Digital spring-cleaning is largely self-explanatory, but in case it isn’t here’s the gist of it: I wanted to get all my digital crap in order… essentially. I’ve never been a digital messy (nice new term). I’ve always kept my devices rather organized. A few things demanded more attention, though.

Photo by T. Q. on Unsplash

The beginning

I started this spring-cleaning project with the magnitude of paper documents I had lying around the house in a somewhat organized matter. I envisioned those organized correctly and scanned to have them available online at all times.

So I started there. I scanned the files from all those big old folders. If you’re curious: I used a ScanSnap to have fast and efficient scanning.

While scanning, I organized the most important documents properly by category. The rest I threw away. And that was a heck of a lot. Most of those documents were only copies anyway. I’ve kept originals with a signature.

I got rid of a huge load of files, while still having them available in the cloud and on a backup hard drive. Now I only have one folder of papers left.

The real digital spring-cleaning…

--

--

Burk
Curious

1.5M+ reads online — Check out my newsletter for free stuff & more https://byburk.net