What’s the Point of Writing?

If you’re ready to give up, read this first.

Crissi Langwell 🦋
Curious
Published in
7 min readSep 22, 2020

--

Photo: Viktoriya Bezhan / Shutterstock

I know you’re tired. I know you have times when you wonder what the point is. You wake up early, stare at that blank page, and aren’t sure why you even bother. You have things you want to say, but you’re afraid no one will listen. Sometimes you wonder if you actually do have things to say, or if writing has just become an extension of your ego.

What’s the point?

There is one, but first let me tell you a few stories.

Eat. Pray. Love.

“When I get lonely these days, I think: So BE lonely, Liz. Learn your way around loneliness. Make a map of it. Sit with it, for once in your life. Welcome to the human experience. But never again use another person’s body or emotions as a scratching post for your own unfulfilled yearnings.” — Elizabeth Gilbert

My first story starts around sixteen years ago, when I was in my mid-twenties. I was going through a volatile divorce and custody battle while all my friends were finishing college and heading into careers. I had never felt more alone in my life. I had no one around who I could relate with, and I was navigating a world that is friendly toward couples, but cold and distant to young single mothers. The only thing worse than the divorce was the…

--

--

Crissi Langwell 🦋
Curious

Romance & women’s fiction author. I write on Medium about a variety of topics because I’m not good at staying in one lane. crissilangwell.com/links