Why You Should Document Your Life

Future you will be able to see how much you have evolved.

Gracia Kleijnen
Curious
Published in
5 min readNov 6, 2020

--

Photographer sitting on rooftop looking at his camera with in the background a free Beijing, China skyline and orange sunset.
Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

I made my first publicly shared video in 2018. I had wanted to play with video making ten years before that but never dared to start. It took me a decade. As an adolescent, I was far too self-conscious and insecure. I was worried that I’d be negatively seen by peers, or worse, mocked for my creations.

Looking back, it might be for the better that I started experimenting with videos later on.

The ten years preceding that first video, I was a hot mess. A rebellious teenager, involved in plenty of things a good and caring parent would tell you to steer clear of. Had I started producing videos then, a big-mouthed girl who had no idea what the hell she was doing would expose and eternalize herself and her distorted thinking, on video, for the world to see.

If trolls or internet bullies were to team up against me today, I’d be able to take it and just brush it off. Back then, I wouldn’t. I would break down at every or any mean comment, take it to heart, and probably try to change myself, or dedicate my time to proving this random person wrong instead of focusing on my journey.

Social Media wasn’t as intertwined with our lives as it is now. No one used YouTube as an alternative to television, as a…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
Curious

Sheets & comics creator. Words on YT, relationships, mental health, productivity & self-development in 35+ pubs. 📕Book author: https://bit.ly/Gracia-Book