Social Media

Yes, Quit Twitter

I don’t like where Twitter is going and here’s why.

Anthony C. Fireman
Curious
Published in
8 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Two birds looking at each other
Photo by Erin Wilson on Unsplash

Twitter makes me nervous. It’s been around since March 21, 2006 and has grown to nearly 330 million users. And while it’s fun to participate in all kinds of conversations, hear celebrity perspectives, and acquire new ideas from quirky bedfellows, I question Twitter’s motives and whether they’re helping. I think you should quit it.

Twitter is a social platform where people identify with and participate in conversations about any, and I mean any, topic. You can find videos of Fauci, follow Jimmy Fallon, see photos from DIY guys, read tweets from this guy, and react to cancel culture vultures.

While the first four serve a purpose, kind of, it’s that fifth one that makes me nervous. I hear about it and ask why does online opine put pressure to impact and influence what happens offline. Why is it that the destruction of one’s life, a sinister act, seems like a social sport?

The Importance of Context

Social to me means you follow the rules of civil discourse regardless of the degree to which you agree or disagree with the opinion before you. It means endearing, pragmatic self-expression so as not to infringe on someone’s personal space.

--

--