You Have to Make Hard Choices to Live a Better Life

Profound lessons that burnout taught me

Varun Khadri
Curious

--

Photo by Anna Tarazevich from Pexels

This is the time of year when all of us do a little reflecting. It doesn’t take a lot of reflection for me to realize that the biggest mistake that I made this year was trying to replicate my pre-pandemic lifestyle.

Before the pandemic hit, I used to wake up at 4 AM for Badminton training, commute 2 hours to college to have a full day of in-person classes from 9 AM to 5 PM, commute back home, eat dinner, write, do assignments, and sleep by 11 PM. It doesn’t take a genius to see how that kind of hustle with almost no rest and sleep is the perfect recipe for disaster.

Yes, I too see that now. But unfortunately, when my college reopened for classes last month, I assumed that just because I used to have that kind of routine before COVID, I could easily do it again. Boy, was I wrong. I ended up falling sick, being deeply unhappy and hating my life.

I was completely burned out. Here’s what I learned through that. Use these lessons to recover from your own burnout or to ensure that it never happens in the first place.

Manage Your Energy, Not Your Time

The mistake that I made was that I thought that if I just manage my time well enough, I would be…

--

--

Varun Khadri
Curious

Ghostwriter to millionaires. Editor-in-chief at The Post-Grad Survival Guide