Your Friends That Smoke Weed Aren’t Lazy

Let’s Talk About The Real Cannabis Culture

B
Curious

--

Photo by Elsa Olofsson on Unsplash

In 2012, Colorado residents voted to legalize marijuana in a ground-breaking political victory. I was twenty at the time, and even though I was an adamant control freak and had never smoked cannabis myself, I knew enough about it to believe that people deserved a choice. When it was officially legal, I gave it a try and was surprised by the experience, but not as surprised as I was to meet an army of corporate ‘stoners’ a few years later who changed the way I looked at pot forever.

The Stoner Trope

In media, there is this ongoing stoner trope. You know, Hyde from That 70’s Show or the kids who get pulled over in Super Troopers. The kids who are constantly messing up in school, or the grown men who are still trying to live like they did back in high school while everyone else grows up and joins real life. We have always presented stoners as being lazy and lacking in motivation, so much so that we have overlooked many successful cannabis lovers over while doing so.

Isn’t it kind of strange how we look at Hyde and see the quintessential stoner, but we never look at Eric or Donna that way even though they smoke weed too? Isn’t it interesting that Sherlock Holmes was constantly using drugs and we just ignore that? We…

--

--