Did You Lose Freedom of Time? Find Joy in Playtime.

Phoebe Leona
Curiously Creative
Published in
5 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash

When I was growing up, we rode bikes in our neighborhood and got lost in imaginary worlds until the fireflies lit up the sky to tell us it was time to go home. I would then hear in the distance my mom’s voice calling me back. I also danced in my room and went into other realms that were full of great possibilities.

Do you have similar memories as a child? I think we all experienced this on some level during our childhood. But then, something happened.

I heard about parents scheduling “playdates” for their kids & filled their time with practices, rehearsals, tutoring lessons… I felt sad for them, sensing that perhaps these younger generations might not know about these times/spaces of freedom. And maybe worse, the grownups who imposed this lifestyle onto their children also cut themselves off from their joy with their hectic schedules.

So what if we reclaimed it now? All of us, old and young.

What if we allowed ourselves time to wander, roam, dance, play, and feel free again until the fireflies called us back home?

During the pandemic, most of our busy schedules got torn away like a security blanket pried out of our hands. Perhaps it exposed this chaotically structured way…

--

--

Phoebe Leona
Curiously Creative

Author, retreat leader, embodiment guide. I help people feel they belong. Next nOMad retreat in Mexico: https://www.thenomadcollective.org/upcoming-retreats