Ethereum — The Best White Elephant Gift Ever

Taejin In
CurrencyCrate
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017

As much as I hate it, I’ve turned into this guy at work.

“Bitcoin, litecoin, ethereum, shit I even have one called butthole coin”

It’s just too hard to keep my emotions in check when I’m “up 500 baby.”

The thing is, I don’t think my coworkers are that annoyed by my incessant cryptocurrency chatter. They know I spend a lot of my time doing the research and they seem to want in on it too. Hey maybe they too can buy some XRP when it was less than a $0.01 and see some hockey stick gains themselves.

So this holiday season, when the annual company ‘white elephant’ (click here for rules) came around, I thought I would spread some of the joy cryptocurrencies have brought me this year. I made a simple paper Ethereum wallet from MyEtherWallet.com, deposited 0.0286 ETH (~$20 on 12/15) in to it, wrapped it in a pretty envelope, and prepared myself to see what would happen.

This is not the actual paper wallet…

Oh man. I knew some people would be interested, but I didn’t expect the reaction it got. Coworkers traded for the paper wallet almost every chance they got. Seeing people trade $50 echo dots, and bluetooth speakers, and much more expensive gifts for a piece of paper with some numbers on it was so amazing to see.

That initial hurdle of getting into cryptocurrency is a hard one. And for one coworker, I was able to jumpstart their relationship with cryptocurrencies this season with a simple paper wallet. Are you looking for a simple, but really fun white elephant, secret santa, or xmas gift for a friend or coworker this season? Go with a paper wallet with cryptocurrency on it.. you won’t be disappointed

Currency Crate is a monthly cryptocurrency subscription service that sends handpicked cryptocurrencies straight to your digital wallet. Join our mailing list at CurrencyCrate.com — we’re launching soon.

Follow Currency Crate on Twitter and Facebook

--

--

Taejin In
CurrencyCrate

Product Management, AdTech, Blockchain, Startups