Curriculum App Release Notes #004

August 2018’s updates to Curriculum, an app for organising your learning resources & tracking your study time.

Louise Swift
Curriculum
2 min readAug 19, 2018

--

Weekly Study Summary Emails

Very brief emails to congratulate us on how much we’ve learned that week (or maybe remind us to read something next week).

Don’t worry, these summaries are only sent to active users and can be EASILY turned off in your account settings (I’m not a monster).

Topics Can Be Grouped Now

Depending on how you use Curriculum to store and manage your learning resources, you might find topic groups useful.

For me, I was including a ‘group’ at the beginning of most of my topic names. For example, “Mathematics: Algebra” and “Mathematics: Calculus”.

This meant that Curriculum’s recommendation engine was recommending me algebra resources in my calculus topic, and vice versa. Not the end of the world — until it starts also getting mixed up with topics named “French Language” and “Programming Language: Ruby”.

Now, I can use groups to label my topics, leaving topic names to be much more specific.

Sorry that Curriculum’s recommendation engine isn’t smarter yet! It’s still a baby.

Various UI Updates

For a non-designer like me, getting the ‘My Track’ and ‘Profile’ pages to list topics and learning resources in a way that is easy and appealing to browse is really hard.

I’m currently trying out some Ant Design-inspired cards, albeit still within the original Accordions Of Doom.

Thanks for reading! Curriculum-App.io is a place for organising all those articles, books and videos you want to go through, and tracking the time you spend studying for a feeling of great satisfaction. Check it out if you like. 💡

--

--

Louise Swift
Curriculum

Software engineer at FutureLearn. Mathematics BSc student.