Solace

UP CURSOR
CURSOR Connects
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2024

Words by: Elijah Mejilla

Perhaps the Lord taught us His prayer so I may

one day have the privilege of holding his hand.

Why else would the scriptures and verses and songs

begin to make sense in the context of his smile?

Because God is found in the softness of his arms,

as I trace my finger over the marks of his palm.

And salvation is his shoulders along my head,

where the weary and broken come to rest.

I see the freckles on his cheeks forming

constellations, as he handpicks the memories

that my memories want to forget.

I find divinity in the sweet nothings

that we whisper in transit, and solace

between heartbeats as I press onto his chest.

So when the breeze comes to a standstill,

my heart will flutter from hope, not fear.

I peek through his eyes and He listens.

And nothing in my soul is broken.

Subscribe to our mailing list via this form to get the latest stories from CURSOR Connects! Follow us too on our UP CURSOR Medium publication here! CURSOR Connects is a monthly newsletter initiative by the Alumni Relations Team of UP CURSOR.

Got a story to share? Questions? You may send an email to alumrel.upcursor@gmail.com for any issues, concerns, and stories. You may also unsubscribe from our mailing list by sending us an email.

--

--