Ode to a Towel!

Things that are once precious, often end up in dust

Anjum Hasan
Cutting Chai
1 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Photo by Marcel Kovačič on Unsplash

Once I would kiss her skin,
once I would caress her hair,
once I was wrapped around her hand,
once I’d dry out on a line in the sun!

But…times have changed,
base I am now,
nothing but a dirty rag to clean the floor,
thrown around to dry,
and the floor is my abode,
my shape is in tatters and I am filthy,
once I was your towel, now I am just a rag!

The original was published by the author in Hindi on the platform Pratilipi. The same has been reproduced here —

तौलिया

कभी उनके तन को चूमती
कभी गेसुओं में झूमती
कभी नाज़ुक उँगलियों पर लिपटती
कभी अलगनी पर झूलती
कभी धूप में सूखती
परन्तु
अब समय गया है बदल
निम्न हो गया है मेरा स्तर
अब पोंछती हूँ फर्श
सूखती हूँ कूलर पर
धूप में लिपटी
पड़ी हूँ लावारिस फर्श पर
बिगाड़ा रूप सौंदर्य मेरा
नीला रंग हुआ है काला
नया नामकरण हुआ मेरा
तौलिया से हुई में पोछा ।।

--

--

Anjum Hasan
Cutting Chai

Educator, travel enthusiast, loves to cook. History, music, art and culture lover. Books and gadgets collector.