The Great Lipstick Conundrum!

Make-up in the time of face masks

Savita Gupta
Cutting Chai
2 min readApr 3, 2021

--

Girl in a mask picture from shutterstock.com

I have been confounded by a weird problem this last year! If you are a woman who always wears a mask when going out, what do you do with your make-up, especially lipsticks?

www.lakmeindia.com

I am quite concerned about my collection of lipsticks, lying unused for the last year. Normally I avoid using lipsticks at home and use them only when venturing out. As I am a dark complexion lady I used light colors while going for a walk or market and used dark colors especially maroon when going to parties. Dark color lipsticks along with big bindi enhance the beauty of my face with elegant sarees.

But alas! For the last year neither I attended any function nor any party, simply residing in my house and doing household chores. My all beautiful sarees are getting outdated waiting for the pandemic to end. But it continues to go on. Recently, there are talks of a second wave, and lockdown is again being enforced in various parts of the country.

With the unabated pandemic, if one does venture out nowadays, a mask is essential. I wonder if make-up sales have declined in the last year. I have not found any solid data to back up my assertion but I am sure that make-up sales would have declined. Mask is essential when going out and you can’t wear lipstick under the mask for fear of staining it. Also, what’s the point if no one sees it.

And thus, dear reader, we come back to my original conundrum —

What to do with my collection of lipsticks?

lipsticks picture from lakmeindia.com

--

--