Wine Tasting Tour in Wachau Valley

Cycling through the picturesque Austrian countryside, with the odd tipple of wine

Patrick Duane
Cutting Edge

--

Credit: Author

I was intrigued by the possibility of doing a wine tour in the Austrian countryside on my visit to Vienna. For me, it definitely sounded like a fun way to spend a day. The cycling element of the tour was the major selling point, and I excitedly signed up.

It’s a big commitment to take a full day out of a brief visit to Vienna. Should I have stayed in Vienna and explored more of the city, or did I make the right call with my countryside escapades? Time to find out!

Morning of the Tour

I arrived to the meeting point early, as I wanted to ensure I was at the right place and limit any potential drama with a wrong turn along the way. There was already a big group gathered when I arrived. Evidently, people had the same ideas as me. Around 20 people from all over the world. The tour was with Vienna Explorer. Some details of the tour below:

  • Duration 9.5 hours
  • Cycling distance, 16 miles (25 Kilometres)
  • Lunch in a local wine tavern
  • Transport by train to and from Wachau valley

--

--

Patrick Duane
Cutting Edge

I’m a fusion of finance and fitness. Background in financial services, certified PT, blogger, world traveler. 5x Top Writer ✍️