Women Soldiers Are Not Necessary

Rangga Perwiratama
Cvlture Clash
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2016

I’ve been pushing my brain to write a lot lately, maybe I need to do this stuff more often because writing give me a purpose to do something again. Since I’m about to graduate and get my bachelor degree in computer science, I have nothing else to do and about to go insane in the account of doing nothing. Perhaps this is my call, but who knows.

Anyway, I read this article today, and kinda feel like want to bitch about it. I don’t know, maybe because I see a woman as a fragile version of a man. I’m a sexist pig, I know. And in a sense, I don’t understand why women want to get positions in an infantry unit. Infantry unit get to be killed first! I read this article too, maybe outdated but kinda prove my point, women physically weaker than men, most women can’t do three pull-ups on their physical fitness test. Can they run around with M27 IAR on their hands for hours? Weight 4kg when it is empty.

Talk about experience, my friends and I went to a place named Ujung Kulon. We went diving there, but it was a scientific diving with science terms, science nerds, and science reports at the end, so we decided to go in a small group. But, we got a protest by our fellow friends because that was not fair. So we ended that debate by raising up the science nerds we accept to go on board with this expedition. We went from the beautiful city of Jogja and we drove 27 hours to get there. We did an excellent job there and we went back home. Then a couple months later we got evaluation forum after recruitment phase. In that forum, a girl was having a tantrum because there was incident in Ujung Kulon.

The incident was a gap between her and other girls there. “So that’s it a gap?”. Nope. It wasn’t. The mad girl demanded equality between men and women because she did hard work all the time while other girls were doing nothing. Men part of the expedition team always talked to her and told her to stop. Because scuba tank is not light, it’s very heavy, like 15kg when it is fully loaded. She refused and refused and refused. So we said, “welcome to the club”. What the other girls did there actually was really important. They did compensate that hard physical work with other things. Let’s say money management, cook, wake us up, and remember anything that might be lost. Those things are harder to do when you’re exhausted. So as men were dying in exhaustion they did what they need to do to support us. Do you think that calculated as doing nothing? It’s not, because we need that. As in we I mean men part of the expedition team.

So that story get me to a point of let’s say men and women got same physical strength, why this girl was having a tantrum in the first place? Why the girl who did, let’s say, money management was not having a tantrum? Why men part of the expedition team were not having a tantrum? Why just why? Here’s an answer, men and women have differences. Women are not as strong as men. So this girl mad at a lot of people because she was doing a stupid thing called hard physical work that was so awful that she can’t make the memory of doing that go away then she’s having a tantrum about it. Simple.

I do feel sorry for women, especially in Indonesia. They need virginity test to enroll as cadets. What’s the point of being virgin and going into combat? Tell me the correlation please, because I don’t understand! But I still believe that women don’t need to go into combat and fight for a nation. I mean we need nurturer for the next generation, stay safe and men will fight for your belief girls. Don’t over think it.

--

--