CREATIVE WRITING — HORROR STORIES — The dead bride

A cura di Michele Pignatelli, 3as

Emanuela Catone
CyberScuola
2 min readFeb 25, 2023

--

It was an ordinary morning, the fire was burning in the fireplace and the wind was blowing hard out the window. The doorbell rang but suddenly a flash of lightning thundered and stopped the electricity throughout the city. The light came on again after a few minutes but, when I went to look out the window to see if the current had been restored throughout the city, I glimpsed a shadow walking with the rain beating incessantly on his head. She wore a wedding dress and limped, her hair was so black like death and her eyes too. I got scared and immediately closed the creaking window. Later I wanted to see if that figure was still outside the window but another thunder interrupted my will to see outside that house.

Then I tried to look out the window but the figure had gone and magically the storm was over. The sun was shining divinely and the flowers seemed to dance. At lunch, however, I went to visit a friend I had met in high school and I had a very confidential relationship with him. I told him how I had spent my day the day before telling him about the strong storm that had infested the city and about the figure I had glimpsed. Jack told me that he hadn’t seen anything like it and that he was at home reading a Poe’s book. I told him, dumbfounded, how it was possible. After that we drank a cup of tea. I returned home when I glimpsed black clouds in the distant horizon that seemed to want to start a storm.

I just had time to get home when it started to thunder like never before and to rain incessantly. The light went out again, but I had a flashlight with me. I looked out the window terrified of being able to see that figure again who….appeared greeting me and getting closer and closer…I backed away in terror, I shut myself up in the house but a sudden flash lit up the room and she…it was really her… .she was in front of me: ice in my veins, sweat on my forehead ..I passed out….and I heard “Lunch is ready, I never left and I will never leave you….”

--

--