About Cyberneno

Martin Mwangi
cyberneno
Published in
3 min readAug 12, 2018

The year was 2013 December when I completed my four year undergraduate course having pursued a Bsc. Information Technology at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), Taita Taveta Campus.

All through my four years it had not been clear what I wanted to specialize in after my graduation; which was a bit worrying… Fast forward… I am out of campus and I get a job at one of the few leading Cybersecurity Firms in Africa.

But first let me clarify on why I decided to embark on this journey (this being my first blog post). First, I am born again and a believer in Christ Jesus; I am now counting ten years since I came to know the Lord. Second, I am a Cybersecurity Consultant; to be specific, Cybersecurity and Risk Architect Lead. Quite a fancy title, I know, but don’t be carried away. I will explain the details of what that entails.

CybersecurityTerms

For now let’s say I have been in the Cybersecurity industry for four years, and born again for ten years, which therefore has given me some understanding of both and thus the name Cyberneno. The purpose of this therefore is to help my readers understand the depth of Cybersecurity in such simple terms as relates with truths in the Word of the Living God, the Bible.

The Basics: Cybersecurity 101

The term cyber-security has always been confusing to many and a lot of times being used interchangeably with such words as data security, computer security, network security and information security among others. But what is cyber security?

Let’s start a more basic level; Data is any set of characters that has been gathered and translated for some purpose whereas information is data that has been processed or analyzed and can thus be used for decision making. A computer on the other hand is a device that can be instructed to carry out sequences of arithmetic or logical operations automatically via computer programming (quite a lengthy description I know :) ) and whereas a network is an interconnection of such computers or other computing devices which may include mobile devices.

When we bring in the concept of securing each of the above, then we get data, information, computer and network security.

Cybersecurity is therefore the protection of internet-connected systems, including hardware, software, data, information and networks from cyber attacks.

The first breach to ever happen in scripture

In the recent years cyber-attacks have been prevalent, with industries in all sectors both public and private being targets of such attack actors. The most recent major cyber attack was Wannacry which affected hundreds of thousands of organizations in more than 150 countries in just 72 hours in March 2017.

While studying the scriptures however, I realized that this is not a new topic. The first breach happened in heaven, unexpected. Sin was found in heaven.

But how did this happen? Where did sin come from in heaven?

We will be looking into this and many more questions in our next publication.

Till then, God Bless you!

--

--

Martin Mwangi
cyberneno

Husband, Born again and a Cybersecurity Enthusiast based in Nairobi, Kenya.