Creating a TryHackMe Room

Stefan Bargan
CyberScribers
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2024

Hello everyone! I’m thrilled to be back on Medium after a brief hiatus. I have some exciting updates to share with you all:

  • I’m close to finishing my MSc: It’s been a challenging journey, but I’m almost there!
  • I will be starting a job as a SOC Analyst at the end of May: I’m excited about this new chapter and the opportunities it will bring.
  • I have created a room on TryHackMe about Cryptocurrency investigations: I’m eager to share it with this awesome community!
TryHackMe Logo

Creating a room on TryHackMe can be both an exciting and rewarding experience. It allows you to share your knowledge, challenge others, and contribute to the community. In this blog post, I will walk you through the process of how I created my first room on TryHackMe, offering tips and insights along the way. Let’s get started!

Disclaimer: The Room is still in the testing phase*

Step 1: Planning the Room

The first step in creating a room is planning. I started by deciding on a topic that I am passionate about and knowledgeable in. For my room, I chose to focus on BTC, Blockchain, and ETH. Once I had my topic, I outlined the key concepts and skills I wanted participants to learn. This helped me structure the room logically and ensure that it would be both educational and engaging.

Step 2: Setting Up the Room on TryHackMe

This page from TryHackMe has helped me a lot in terms of creating my first room — First Room

It provided me with a step-by-step guide to create my first room on TryHackMe.

Step 3: Adding Content

With the room set up, it was time to add content. This involved creating tasks, challenges, and informational sections. Here’s how I did it:

  1. Create Tasks: I broke down the learning objectives into individual tasks. Each task focused on a specific aspect of BTC, Blockchain, or ETH. For example, one task was about understanding Bitcoin transactions, while another focused on Ethereum smart contracts.
  2. Add Descriptions and Instructions: For each task, I provided clear descriptions and step-by-step instructions. This ensured that participants would know exactly what to do and what they were expected to learn.
  3. Incorporate Challenges: To make the room more interactive, I included practical challenges. These required participants to apply what they had learned to solve problems or find specific information.
  4. Include Resources: I added links to external resources, such as documentation, tutorials, and tools like Blockchain.com. This helped participants dive deeper into the topics and provided additional learning opportunities.

Step 4: Testing the Room | Current Step

Before publishing the room, it’s essential to test it thoroughly. I went through each task and challenge to ensure everything worked as expected.

And now I’m asking this community for help with testing my TryHackMe Room. Link for the room — https://tryhackme.com/r/room/cryptocurrencyinvestigations

Conclusion

Creating a room on TryHackMe was a fantastic experience. It allowed me to share my knowledge and contribute to the community in a meaningful way. I hope this guide inspires you to create your own room and share your expertise with others.

If you have any feedback or questions, feel free to reach out to me on Twitter at @StefanBargan.

Thank you for reading my story! If you enjoyed it, make sure to follow me for more content like this.

Buy Me A Coffeehttps://www.buymeacoffee.com/stefanpbargan

My LinkTreehttps://linktr.ee/StefanPBargan

--

--

Stefan Bargan
CyberScribers

Everything here is my personal work and opinions.