The Unusual Backstory of Security Researcher, Hollie

CyberStart
CyberStart Family
Published in
4 min readMay 2, 2019

Security Researcher Hollie never thought about working in cyber security at school, but when she combined her passion for forensics and computers, this is where she landed. She sat down to talk to us about her path.

We’re moving! Come and find us on www.cyberstart.com/blog where you will find even more tips, tricks and industry support. See you there!

We know that cyber security can appear daunting to people who don’t know anything about it.

In this blog, we have one of CyberStart’s talented Security Researchers, Hollie, talking to us about how she got into cyber security work, what it’s like being a woman in the industry, and even failing school exams!

Q: Hi Hollie, thanks for taking the time to talk to us today! We know you’re super busy so let’s get started. Many of our readers will be taking their first steps in learning about cyber security. Have you wanted to be in this industry since school?

A: No not at all, I can’t remember learning anything to do with IT when I was in education! I left school early and got a job, so I just tinkered about with computers in my spare time. I was mostly playing PC games, which led to me getting a job at Game Station. Working there also gave me the chance to start repairing game consoles by ripping them apart to find the fault. That was where I started.

I was mostly playing PC games, which led to me getting a job at Game Station.

Q: Did your friends share your interest in computers back then?

A: No, friends I had at school weren’t interested in IT at all. I remember this one time, I had a pager (yes those old wireless telecommunication things), and I was dead excited, but no-one else had one, or cared!

So, no, my friends in real life didn’t share my interests but I played online with people around the world. I’m still close with my online friends now.

Q: You studied Forensic Science as a degree, what made you pick that?

A: I picked a Forensic degree because at the time I was interested in why people do the things they do. I’ve always been interested in what makes people tick! I even liked how Forensic Scientists would investigate and what they needed to do to maintain the integrity of evidence used in investigations. I went from my Forensics degree to Digital Forensics, combining my interests.

Q: When you got your first job in cyber security, did you feel ready for it?

A: It’s such a difficult situation because I’ve had imposter syndrome in every job I’ve had! I think it’s from not being very good at school and how heavily judged you are on your exam results. I failed a lot of my exams, so when you do achieve something, the fact that ‘you weren’t good at school’ means they assume it’s a fluke. Confidence can play a massive part, especially as a female in such a male-oriented environment; you feel you need to prove yourself.

“…as a female in such a male-oriented environment; you feel you need to prove yourself.”

Q: Do you feel there are barriers for women and girls trying to get into cyber security?

A: I actually haven’t worked with another woman within cyber security in 5 years, so yes! But I do feel that CyberStart’s programmes are excellent at breaking down barriers. They allow young women to take their time and to see if this is the industry for them. I was never offered anything like that when I was younger, so giving women these resources is a good stepping stone to open up new opportunities.

“CyberStart’s programmes are excellent at breaking down barriers. They allow young women to take their time and to see if this is the industry for them.”

Q: If CyberStart had been around when you were in education would you have taken part?

A: Definitely! I’d have loved it. I wish I had something like that as a kid. My generation didn’t have anything like this. We’re hopefully closing the gap and getting new talent into the industry with CyberStart. Hopefully, kids who are taking part in the programme now will grow up thinking of cyber security as a real career option and know how to get there.

Q: Do you find any of the CyberStart challenges difficult?

A: To be honest, I still get stuck on the CyberStart Assess challenges, never mind the bases in Game!

Q: What advice would you give to students playing currently?

A: Not to overthink the challenges. I see this happen all the time; a lot of people look at them and think they’re going to be crazy hard. You need to ensure you approach it rationally. I mean there are hard ones, but sometimes you need to think outside of the box and always remember…Google is your friend!

“Google is your friend!”

Q: If you weren’t working in cyber security, what would you be doing?

A: Working in the Fire Service! I did a lot of work experience with them down the sewers, unblocking drains and I absolutely LOVED it, I had such a good time in the smoke mazes too.

Thank you so much, Hollie, for taking the time to chat and allowing us to find out how you got into the industry.

Interested in our programmes? Check out where you can build your cyber security knowledge for free!

UK 13–18-year-old student programme: Cyber Discovery https://cyberdisc.io/medium

USA 13–18 year-old girls student programme: Girls Go CyberStart https://ggcs.online/medium

USA 18–year-old and above college student programme: Cyber FastTrack https://cyberft.io/medium

--

--

CyberStart
CyberStart Family

CyberStart is a collection of tools that will introduce you to the cyber security industry and accelerate your entry into the profession! 💻