AI art

Bomber Brewing Co. in East Van: anti-podcast #1

Chatting with Gabby and two dudes at the bar

Michael Filimowicz, PhD
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2023

--

This audio-based post is kind of like an anti-podcast podcast, in that instead of the pristine quiet room with a beefed up dynamically compressed and EQ’d voice of authority recorded through a big USB mic and processed through DAW plugins, you get instead the raw ambient acoustic environment of a pretty cool and rather busy small- to medium-sized brewery in East Vancouver.

In this audio recording taken with a simple cellphone app, I chat with the bartender Gabbie and towards the end, two dudes sitting at the bar next to me. The music is pretty loud and periodically customers have to be attended to during the conversation, but it conveys the vibe of an East Van brewery on a major cycling route. I did use a bit of noise reduction to lessen the presence of the background music, but I didn’t want to get alien digital artifact voices so very raw and unedited the audio track remains.

One of my favorite moments is a bit of intuitive impromptu micro economics conjecturing when Gabbie says she thinks that Bomber’s customer base is 75% cyclists and a dozen skateboarders. Towards the end we chat about their brewing philosophy and the hazards of cider that can freeze in the tanks. Bomber is one of my favorite breweries along my 96km route to Steveston (a touristy ‘fishing village’ at the south end of Richmond), so I’m happy to feature them here on my cycling blog.

Bomber Brewing on Google Maps

--

--