Illegal steal across the border!

How to enter Lhamo Lhatso Lake which doesn’t allow HK/TW/Foreigners to enter

Yanki Chan
Cykler. Western China
7 min readJan 12, 2018

--

So, I thought Hong Kong is apart of China? Every Mainland Chinese said Hongkongese shouldn’t call themselves Hongkongese but we have to call ourselves Mainland Chinese.

On Shannan route there’s two famous holy lake — Yamdrok Tso Lake and Lhamo Lhatso Lake (The lake you can see your next life and previous life). The bike technician I met in BaYi told me that Hongkongese cannot enter Lhamo Lhatso Lake. You know our team is a group of people “Never try never know”. Also we have heard that everyone has to buy a 50RMB ticket to enter. My team wanted to escape from buying tickets, so we stayed overnight on the road enter the lake and was going to ask more info from locals.

The local said “There’s a police station 1KM away from here, it opens at 730am.”

51KM uphill to the lake

We decided to get up at 6am and went inside in dark and also when the police are all sleeping! After that we can hitchhike to the top of the mountain lake as we can’t cycle there and back in a day. In the dark we walked about 1KM, we saw some light in front, that’s the police station! We immediately turned off our torches.

100M, 50M……still 5 steps away! Let’s get in!

Suddenly there’s 3 locals driving their motorbike in “Hohoho!!!” the motorbikes were so noisy and woke the police up!

NO!!! I was screaming inside.

Then there’s another car drove in front of the police station, the drive got off the car and walked to the police.

NO!!! I was screaming inside x 2.

“Hey wait! Coach, Mr. Weird and Fat boy!”

I stopped and wanted to wait for a better chance to get in, but they accelerate their walking speed!!! OMG, we are not going to make it!

The police saw them and shouted “Hey! What are you guys doing here!?”

“We are going to watch sunrise.” OMG, what answer if that?

“No! You can’t get inside! Don’t assume that we can’t see you, we have camera watching you.” OK, so stupid, we have to walk back.

It was still dark in the morning, we stood in front of the police station and discussed our next step. The car driver we saw talked to us and he quickly promised to take me to the lake, yes, they only wanted to take me. 730AM, the station opened! I don’t want to have a any chances that they stop me going into the lake, so I stayed inside the car. But the police asked all the people get off the car and check our ID. So I got off and gave them my Hong Kong China ID (Hongkongese has a special ID to enter China, it is different from HK passport and HKID).

The police saw my ID card “No, you can’t enter.”

“Why? Aren’t Hong Kong is apart of China?”

“Don’t ask me! Ask my boss then!” OMG, so f__king rude! I was going to give up and let my teammates go by themselves, but they refused, so kind of you!!

“We need you because you are a girl, it’s easier to hitchhike.” So you just need my gender…

Seeing the police station from small road

We looked around, tried to walk pass the police station without notice. From the landscape seems possible to walk beside the river. We walked through a farm on cow poo and hide behind trees like playing war game.

Mr.Weird is in bright colour, catching so much attention
Mr.Weird and I thought this is Tibet Jade, so stupid!
This big tree blocks the sight from police station

We passed the police station!

So it’s time to go back to the main road. The end of small road is a Tibet house, no one was inside, but we were still in somewhere that the police could see us, we were going to walk further more through thrones but behind the thrones there’s trees and branches blocked the way, beside that it’s a river. But no one could stop us going further, we were planning to put some stones on the river and go pass the tree.

It’s a road but it’s not
Trees blocking the way

Coach was going to see what’s after the tree, Fat boy suddenly said we could go back to the main road from the Tibet house that we went pass. I knew that Fat boy always say something without thinking and prove, so I always challenge him and don’t really trust him.

“Did you went up and try?”

“Yes I did!”

OK, let me give you one more chance. We went back to the house through thrones and I asked Fat boy go first. He went up and came back down in 2 secs.

Please don’t come down and talk shit

“There’s police, he can see us from there, we have to go further and hide behind the the mountain.”

WTF, didn’t you say you went up and looked? Anyway, I don’t have time to challenge you again and it’s useless, so we went back to the river. Coach went behind the trees and came back in 15mins. He said we can go back to the main road but we have to climb up a rubbish hill. Coach is very nimble so he went up before us and pull us up.

Moving stones to river
Coach was looking for direction
We climbed this rubbish hill
Running to a place that police can’t see us

Let’s go! We ran across the road to the area that the police can’t see us.

We made it! Start hitchhiking! I took off my head scarf, so the drivers can notice me as a girl. Around 10mins later, a car stopped, they are not going to the lake, they can only take 2 people, Mr.Weird and Coach jumped onto the car……

“You stay! As it’s easier to hitchhike!” So you only need my gender x 2.

No long later I hitchhiked a car! That car went through Fat boy but he stopped in front of me. Well, I only have female’s body but men’s heart.

Scenery on road. I cropped out the rubbish so it looks a bit like Switzerland
Tibet dog

Seem’s like everything going smoothly, but it’s not! There’s another police station and actually it’s also a ticket station. The car stopped before the ticket station, I asked Fat boy to go and have a look at least he has China’s ID. Fat boy came back and told me that people who came in legally they have to leave their ID card in the first police station and the police would give them a piece of paper with their name, they have to buy tickets with that paper.

The police already saw fat boy so he have to buy ticket, the police asked why his name is not on the paper. The driver helped us and told the police that Fat boy walked inside so he didn’t know. I was in the car hiding, the car is cover with sun sticker so no one can see what’s inside the car except seeing it from the front.

We arrived the lake safely after walking up stairs for 20 mins, we finally saw the holy lake. The lake which can see your next life, but I only see a bread shape lake, so my next life would have lots of bread?

Need to walk uphill to see the lake
Many Tibetese come to the holy lake and pray
This old lady saw me taking photos and posed

PS. Since the first day I went to the ShenZhen border illegally by bike, my trip is always doing something illegal.

PS2. The local told me that the police caught a spy in Tibet who is from Hong Kong so there’s many place in China which doesn’t allow Hongkongese to get in. Wow, I thought our government and police love China very much and they are not intelligence enough to send a spy there?

Selfie time

Thanks for reading, it would be super grateful to follow me on other medias…

www.facebook.com/hongkongcykler
www.instagram.com/yanki.chan

--

--