Brian Seel
cylussec
Published in
1 min readFeb 29, 2016

--

Giving back

I am getting to the point in my career where I have a certain level of experience. I am now able to jump on things that I have not done before, and have an idea of how to attack the problem.

I decided that I wanted to give back to those that are just starting out in their career. I found this program called “Free Code Camp”, which is a great set of interactive tutorials that teach web development. I decided to reach out to them and the high school that is local to my area and offer some help. Sure, it might be hard for me to commit to showing up in person, but there are some really good collaboration tools that would allow everyone to meet up virtually.

But so far I have not been taken up on the offer. Its like when I try to answer questions on Stack Overflow. Its either general questions that get answered very quickly, or very specific questions that I don’t know the answer to.

How on earth does someone give back?

--

--

Brian Seel
cylussec

Software developer; resident of Baltimore; love trying new things