Sky’s the limit — Meet Ming Jun, Senior Engineer at DSTA’s Drones Programme Office

d*classified
d*classified
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2024
Minding my drone business

My Role

As a Senior Engineer at DSTA’s Air Systems Programme Centre, I manage complex drone programs. My daily responsibilities involve overseeing the evaluation, deployment, and integration of drone technologies which are critical to national defence capabilities. My role requires a blend of technical acumen and strategic oversight to ensure these aerial systems meet both current and future operational needs.

How I Got My Job

Before joining DSTA, I gained extensive experience in aerospace engineering at Pratt & Whitney, where I honed my skills in manufacturing engineering processes and new product introductions. Despite the satisfaction I derived from my past role, I found myself seeking new challenges and opportunities to make a broader impact. What attracted me to DSTA was its reputation for cutting-edge technological innovations and its crucial role in national security. The transition allowed me to leverage my aerospace background while stepping into a more impactful role contributing directly to my country’s defence initiatives.

The Highs and the Lows

Working at DSTA is as rewarding as it is challenging. The highs of my job come from the moments when our team successfully integrates new technology into operational use, knowing that our work directly contributes to national safety and operational efficiency. However, these successes are not without their lows. The pressure to deliver reliable solutions under tight deadlines can be immense, and the responsibility of ensuring the safety and effectiveness of our defence technologies is a significant weight to carry. I’m glad to work alongside my highly motivated team to navigate these challenges together.

Ming Jun visits partners around the world to keep abreast of technology developments

My Happiest Moment at Work

One of the most fulfilling moments in my career at DSTA occurred when our team successfully completed the rigorous flight testing for a new drone platform, securing the necessary safety clearances for its deployment. This achievement wasn’t just a professional milestone; it highlighted the exceptional teamwork between our DSTA engineers and RSAF partners. Our collaboration involved ideating new operating concepts to maximize the drone system’s capabilities, exemplifying a robust ops-tech partnership.

Some Advice

For those looking to pursue a career in technical and engineering fields, particularly in defence technology, my advice is to embrace challenges and remain flexible. The landscape of technology and defence is constantly evolving, so a willingness to continually learn and adapt is crucial. Also, never underestimate the importance of teamwork. The complexity of today’s defence systems means no single person can manage everything — success is truly a team effort.

Putting drones through their paces at overseas field trials

--

--