6 lessons in 6 months that I changed country and career

Israel Mesquita
D-Hero
Published in
4 min readFeb 17, 2018

Life can be crazy sometimes, but it's always teaching something

Look to the horizon… there's still so much to do.

6 months ago I was getting on a plane in Brazil, towards Portugal. I pass on a Master’s degree in Lisbon and felt that I needed a radical change in my life. Too many things in my head, feelings that things weren’t connecting, craving for professional development, etc.

So I met a new culture (I had visited Portugal before, but to live here is totally different), interacted with Portuguese clients, got a new job which the official language is English (trying to get used to write, speak and hear), in a new career (previously I was a Graphic Designer, and now, a Product Designer) and finished the Master’s first semester. I learned a lot. Got ups and downs, crisis and sensations that I conquered the world. Everything at the same time. It’s been an amazing adventure and I think it would be a waste not to write about.

From this big changes, I got 6 lessons/tips that can be useful to someone thinking about doing the same.

1. New country, new culture

It's something like that

On the one hand, it’s incredible to have an opportunity to get to know a completely different culture and live it, but at the same time, it’s normal and not cool to live moments when you’ll feel like an intruder and get some crisis.

2. Back to class, back to questioning

If you’ve been in the market for a while and then go back to classes, it’s common to feel weird. It takes patience. You’ll need to understand that even if in the real world, that class / job / theory doesn’t make any sense, it can, somehow, help you to have an insight, even if it’s just the development of patience and perseverance. Academic degrees still have their utility in the market… I hope.

3. Too much pressure = Too much stress

Of course, you brought a baggage, a previous life experience, a history of successes and past mistakes… but guess what? There will be times that you’ll still gonna screw up. And will realize that there’s still a lot to grow, to improve. After all…

4. We're going back to the start

You’re learning everything from scratch again. Junior position: In career, country, life. Accept and embrace this apprentice side, which many people set aside. Throw the “senior” pride in the trash.

5. Bad connection

Making real friends can be harder than it looks, especially if you’re not a kid anymore. There are barriers of culture, language, preferences, tastes, behavior, even your own barriers! Here is perhaps the trickiest part… try to break those barriers and make new friends. In moments of loneliness, longing, crisis, etc, these friends are the ones that will be there to hold you.

6. Have fun!

Sometimes you put in your head that you’re not there to ride and party, but to conquer the world (I put it in my head myself) … it is a good thought, but it can generate anxiety crisis and frustration that will harm you in the long run. Learn to do your best without pressing yourself more than necessary. This healthy mid-term keeps you in the race of life for a longer time. After all, this race is not a sprint, but a marathon.

If the balance was positive or negative in these apprenticeships, I don’t know, but I recommend this experience with all my strength to those who think of doing the same. I’m pretty sure that I’m going to learn a lot in the next months (I still have at least 1 year and a half to finish my master’s degree) and that defeats and victories will come. But the important thing is to move forward with a smile on your face, enjoying every moment, no matter what happens.

--

--