Nature Is The Great Stress Dissolver

Words by Egypt
Dabbler
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2020

“A walk in nature, walks the soul back home.”– Mary Davis

Photo by Joakim Honkasalo |Unsplash

I went for a walk around my local neighborhood about 30 min ago. For months, I’ve been circling the same route more or less. I decided to take the off-roads today for a change. For a little micro-adventure.

Because why not?

Prior to that, my head was full. I’m exploring a new business venture of setting up a natural health shop and healing clinic. So I’d been planning for days. Gosh is there so much planning.

I needed to clear my head and revel in the sounds of nature once more.

I’m glad I laced up my walking shoes and hit the sidewalks

In all, I walked for about an hour. It was nice to get out and breathe the fully oxygenated air. The fresh air clears the mind and brings more energy tome.

It was a simple delight looking at the variation in the way different homes tended to (or not )their lawns or gardens. We encountered a bright blue home, that my little one adored. Although it wasn’t to my taste. I prefer more somber color notes. But then I’m not an eight-year-old boy.

This made me reflect on and appreciate how deeply healing nature is.

The low cost of bliss

I could feel my stress dissolving with each step. My muscles softening, as I paced through the sidewalks. It was more a saunter than a walk. I refused to mentally let exercise come into the process. This walk was more for my mind. Then my body. It felt good. I didn’t have to spend a penny to achieve this state either.

No substance was consumed, and no person paid. To achieve the stress dissolving benefits of a simple walk.

That is always a good thing.

Especially nowadays when it seems that all our conscious states have been usurped. By some form of a commercial enterprise or another

  • Want to feel alert?… Here’s some coffee
  • Want happiness?….Take this pill
  • Want to feel strong?… Enroll in our gym
  • Want to be entertained?….. Hit the movies, club, show or festival
  • Heck want to sleep well?….buy this $150 pillow.

Nature provides all these benefits. For free. It feels good.

We can all too easily forget that nature sufficiently provides us with most of our well-being needs. If only we commune and appreciate her.

Here is to my healing walk. And to many more to come.

Writer’s Note: Egypt is a writer, poet, minimalist, freedom, and wisdom seeker. She writes on things related to simplicity, creativity, and freedom HERE

Originally published at https://artisanoffreedom.com on August 12, 2020.

--

--

Words by Egypt
Dabbler

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt