How to Take a Personal Inventory

Current Plate of Affairs
Dabbler
Published in
5 min readJun 15, 2020
Photo by Apostolos Vamvouras on Unsplash

Early issues of the magazine, The Spectator, which ran in 1712, first discussed aesthetics. Since then many philosophers are artists have tried to define aesthetic and bring its relevance to works of art in both physical and metaphysical art forms, such as architecture and music.

As Western society industrialized and leisure time became a more prominent part of daily life, creative outlets began to flourish and people could more readily learn about themselves and their place in their world, rather than being too preoccupied with survival.

We have been moving toward the Age of Automation since the Industrial Revolution. This new age will usher in a greater emphasis on creativity and entertainment. This cultural and shift will require us to have a developed sense of identity and self-actualization.

Therefore, being able to engage with art, our innermost selves, and the world around us, allows us to see the interconnectedness between the three.

This is socially necessary because it allows you to find your place in an otherwise arbitrary world.

Photo by Lily Banse on Unsplash

Here is my personal aesthetic moodboard with tips on how you can create your own on your journey to self-discovery or re-discovery. Read more about how art can be integral to developing your narrative here.

Moodboards are supposed to represent a visual direction for a project or be a visual representation of where you are or want to be in life.

This photo inspired me to write about aesthetics and their place in developing one’s sense of self through art.

The image balances light and dark. It is mysterious, just like me. The blurred light represents my blurred vision of my life path, but also represents hope that I will find my path.

Photo by Mourad Saadi on Unsplash

The vast and open sky here signifies the vast and open world of opportunity just waiting to crash on my shore.

The ocean. One of my favorite places to be. Water is always moving. The ocean’s water can never be contained. I feel that way too. Nothing can contain the power I have or the vibrant life I hold.

Here, the blurred refracting light is juxtaposed with some crisp elements.

Take note of these structural elements of photos when taking your own personal inventory and create a narrative of yourself in images that speak to you.

Photo by Paulius Dragunas on Unsplash

The lush greenery is significant to me and my journey because I find myself at peace with nature.

The different layers of trees that make up this forest are representative of the different layers in my own mind and preferences that come together to create my stream of consciousness, much like the recurring motif of flowing water that is the stream in this photo.

Photo by Sambit Mahapatra on Unsplash
Photo by Barış Selcen on Unsplash
Photo by Dominik Dombrowski on Unsplash

I’m feisty, ferocious and formidable, just like fire.

Identifying yourself within an image and describing that image to yourself can give you the confidence to be like the subject of a photo.

I want to embody strength and a mysterious sense of beauty. I want to have a natural glow that people can get lost basking in, but also that acts as a light and sense of security. Fire is an optimal choice.

When looking at an image, assess how it makes you feel and see if that aligns with how you want to represent yourself to the world. Describe what you feel and become more attuned to yourself, your feelings and the path you want to follow in life.

Creating a crystal is a hard process. Cyclical melting and cooling form beautiful structures.

One’s life path is like creating a crystal. Raw materials mixed with the challenges of life come to shape us into the unique person we are.

I recognize that I will have meltdowns, but I will soon cool off from these challenges and will become stronger each time.

Noting the recurring motif of the Bokeh effect in the photo I have chosen, I recognize that I sometimes lose focus, but the main subject, my journey to personal self-discovery, is clear in the forefront of my mind.

As the eye descends through this image one notices fog, a brain fog, and trees poking out, ideas and feelings reaching toward the forefront of the mind.

In the reflection on the lake, there is a transition from brain fog, to putting in the work for self-discovery. Open a mirror image to yourself and discover!

Using photography to take a personal inventory is an eye-opening experience and can help you hone your interests and discover who you are as an individual in the world.

Not convinced that creating your own aesthetic can be therapeutic? Not convinced that self reflection through art can help you identify your true personality? Read my previous installment about why you should cultivate your aesthetic here.

Stay tuned for the next installment where I make an aesthetic moodboard for Current Plate of Affairs.

--

--