Why You Should Cultivate Your Own Aesthetic

Current Plate of Affairs
Dabbler
Published in
4 min readJun 14, 2020
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

I have always felt disconnected from the youth culture I grew up in. TikTok is a new world for me. YOLO is as cringy to me now as it was when it regained popularity in 2011. And don’t ask me about the new popular slang terms.

But there is something to say about only living once that got me thinking.

I was never one to feed into the trends and live my life in the cultural bubble. Flock mentality never appealed to me. And yet, I haven’t found my brand. The internal and external appearance I want to showcase.

Despite not following the herd, I have yet to truly identify myself. I became too consumed with where I was going, without first figuring out who was starting the process. While I and everyone is unique, I haven’t found the way I want to express this uniqueness.

For this, I recommend cultivating an aesthetic.

Aesthetic, something visually appealing. Aesthetic, not just something for your Instagram feed. Aesthetic, something that brings greater dimension to feeling and being.

Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

It might just sound like something you would do if literally had nothing else to do. Or if you didn’t have a job or responsibilities. Or if your job was to create an aesthetic or brand. But defining your aesthetic can be a necessary step on a path to self-discovery. I know it sounds vain, but self-reflection is necessary for growth and overall happiness.

Harnessing your own personal aesthetic can be therapeutic. The experience of developing or revamping one’s aesthetic is an exercise in expression. Taking a moment to relax and reflect on yourself and your needs instead of constantly worrying about and engaging with the fast paced world around you, is often necessary. Working your mind to find meaning in art, opens you up to a new language. A language that is entirely self-directed. A language that is malleable to fit your needs and your needs alone. Going beyond what is explicitly stated can help you determine what you think about yourself and how you relate to the world.

Photo by Nikita Kachanovsky on Unsplash

I find myself in a place of uncertainty of who I am and who I will become. I want to define what it is I like and dislike, what it is I desire and what I do not.

The quarter-life crisis real and time flies. Don’t deprive yourself of yourself.

Don’t blindly follow the herd because they look like they are having so much fun. FOMO, the fear of missing out, is real too. Seeing everyone you know having a great time, while all seemingly following the same path to that entertainment can be demoralizing. But identifying what you want out of life is much more fulfilling than “filling a mold” and “checking off boxes” just because it seems like that is what you are “supposed to” be doing.

Don’t limit yourself. Create a mood board. Revamp your style. Learn as much as possible about the world. Find a greater understanding of yourself.

Photo by Andy Art on Unsplash

Self-discovery or re-self-discovery can be a daunting task. Turning your world upside down is scary. But avoidance is not the answer. If you feel lost, take the time to find yourself. Throwing yourself into projects might work for you in the short term, but overall, in the end, you may find yourself full of regret. The emotional burden of self-discovery that is placed in high regard in the West, in especially affluent cultural bubbles, is a luxury. A luxury because it brings one closer to themselves. Finding one’s inner peace brings happiness.

Living with existential dread is no way to live. If you can, try to discern what makes you happy. What makes you feel alive. What you find “aesthetically pleasing”.

Join me on this series on personal self-discovery. Learn how to represent yourself, your uniqueness and your brand by creating mood boards and analyzing your personal dialogue with the images you choose. Stay tuned for the next installment.

Photo by Fabian Møller on Unsplash

--

--