Why You Should Spend More Time To Master Self-Discipline

Simi Joseph
Dabbler
Published in
5 min readDec 19, 2018

Being an avid reader, we know of many books written on the secrets of achieving greatness, the important habits to instill, the stepping stones to success etc. But from what I’ve learnt, the first value you need to inculcate is SELF DISCIPLINE.

“To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one’s family, to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one’s own mind. If a man can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment, and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him.”

- Buddha

You cannot expect yourself to be good at anything without hard-work and hard-work needs to be consistent. You need the self-discipline to follow your plan, stick to the schedule and to repeat it until you get the desired results and then more.

Believe me, it is the hardest thing to do. This would either make you or break you. And yes, this I know from experience.

Working for around 12 hours daily, giving my heart and soul to a company, I was quite sure, I would only resign when I’m old enough to be someone else’s responsibility. But boy, was I wrong.

After a heated argument, I knew my service at this place had to end.

So what next?

We all have heard great leaders say this, read many quotes that emphasize the importance of reading books. That in order to learn, you need to read.

“There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.”

- Walt Disney

I have always been a fast learner and that did help me throughout my career but I did seem to have a problem. I always believed that out of all the things I can learn and do, I will never be patient enough to read books. It was too hard for me to glue myself to a place and complete even a small book.

My ordeal at the office made me question my this particular belief among others. I knew I needed the change. So I made a pact with myself to read at least 20 pages daily from any book that I could find. And so I started with the smallest book I get my hands on for the closest book store It was a book by Erle Stanley Gardner — The Case of the Velvet Claws.

The start was slow and was too hard to do it religiously. But driven by my desire for change, I knew I had to get it done. And quite frankly, I planned how I would do it. A plan to complete the book within 3 days.

As I went on, I started to enjoy the story and by the end, I was so marveled that I didn’t even realize that I had over a period of time, started to read more than 20 pages on daily basis and the count only went on increasing from there.

“I read a book one day and my whole life was changed.”

- Orhan Pamuk

I can bet it is true. Since then I have read around 30 books in 6 months and they gave me the courage to change my path and pursue my dream. No wait, It gave me the courage to dream.

Believe me, with a plan and a little self-discipline, you can achieve whatever you set your mind to. Yes, this sounds tough but is easier than you think.

This is how I did it and let me guide you through it -

1. Set your priorities straight

“The Principle of Priority states (a) you must know the difference between what is urgent and what is important, and (b) you must do what’s important first.”

- Steven Pressfield

2. Make a note of your major distractions, weakness, temptations and be sure avoid them

“Out of Sight, Out of Mind”

3. Prepare a Personal timetable and set deadlines

“A plan is what, a schedule is when. It takes both a plan and a schedule to get things done.”

- Peter Turla

4. Be true to yourself while executing the plan

“The truer you are to yourself, the greater your gifts will manifest themselves.”

- Tiffany L. Jackson

5. Take regular breaks

“There is virtue in work, there is virtue in rest. Use both and overlook neither.”

- Alan Cohen

6. Reward yourself

“ Celebrate your personal victories because no one else understands what it took to accomplish them.”

Always remember the 21/90 Rule,

It takes 21 days to build a habit. It takes 90 days to build a lifestyle.

The Power is within YOU!!

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this article, feel free to hit that 👏 button and help others find it.

--

--

Simi Joseph
Dabbler
Writer for

An Avid Reader, Entrepreneur, Writer, Amateur Sketch Artist. Read More at everythingstartswithanidea.com