Zach Katsof
dadlife
Published in
1 min readSep 15, 2018

--

DadLife #8 — Business Travel Changes Once you have Kids

For me, Business Travel has changed a lot since having kids. It’s a necessary part of my job and I enjoy it. However, I miss being home for bed time routine, morning wake up and everything in between with my little guy and wife.

Here are a few things I’ve found to help when traveling for work with a little one at home:

1) book late night flights so you can still do bed time routine before heading to the airport

2) be efficient with travel (pack the schedule). What used to be a 3 day trip is now 1–2 days.

3) bring a toy with you that your little guy/girl recognizes so when you’re face-timing they can say hi to it

4) exercise is key. Keeps you grounded, helps you sleep and helps the time pass on the road

5) as your little one grows up, explain why you travel for work, involve them in the process (helping pack/unpack) and talk every day

6) for long trips, record little videos each day for them to watch in the evening showing where you are

7) when home, be present. Put down your phone and enjoy quality time together

--

--

Zach Katsof
dadlife
Editor for

I live in Oakville, ON. Life is all about family, friends and exploring/learning new things every day.