Story: Persistence

Just want to let you in on a secret, that I’ve taken the Jonas Ellison challenge of writing everyday for a year straight. If you want to join me on this journey of pressing publish a total of 365 times and grow together, let me know.

Dahlia Turnbull
Dahlia Turnbull

--

If you have ever needed to write a note to yourself in order to continue on your path and not get distracted,you might appreciate this. A poem about self perseverance and how to walk away.

Distance

written: January. 7th.2015

Distance and persistence will help emotions falter. Loose imagery of the other standing at the alter.

Adios, as I welcome a new chapter as peace within myself is quite honestly, all is that I’m after.

The mind is a scary place as the distinction between reality and imagination take precedent. Truth is, I’m out to be the president of who I allow to be enraptured and captured by my scent.

I’m the headliner, written in highlighter, plastered on a blimp. From the sounds of it, you’d think this girl thinks she’s a pimp. Self acclaimed, not ashamed, no one else to blame, exotic wonderful.

Ego-full, who am I trying to fool. But, but, my brain is still, as the time ticks enamored by the one who doesn’t pick up when I call.

Never going to be the one that falsely says I have it all. Because if I did, well then, I wouldn’t have any reason to write at all. Allured by the idea of togetherness, maybe I’m a pessimist but I don’t really see it happening even when I’m standing, dead codfish solid in the mist.

Instead, I’m going to make a list of the hearts I’ve collected, throw on a poncho and keep living life as if there is no tomorrow.

Persistence supersedes talent, close my eyes as I welcome the distance. You were once the highlighter of my life, but I got more pens to write the rest. For these are words that one has to get off their chest.

If you enjoyed reading, please support by tapping on the heart and turn it 💚

Email: turnbulldahlia@gmail.com

Instagram: Heart here too!

Twitter: Follow the bird!

--

--