Think Fast and Slow Song

Dahlia Turnbull
Dahlia Turnbull
Published in
2 min readJul 5, 2017
Kulaks Woodshed. June. 2017

All it takes is one song to bring back 1000 memories.

So, “ Think Fast and Slow” was a poem I wrote almost three years ago about a man that will never know it’s about them. That sometimes as a person, we brainstorm all the ways how we could be together, but at the end realize why it wouldn’t work out.

What is very special about this particular performance was how it all came together. Kulak’s Woodshed holds an open mic every Monday night with many singers across all walks of life, the best hidden gem in Los Angeles for Americana music and acoustic sets with a comfortable vibe. Trust me, I’ve been to my fair share of open mic nights within Los Angeles.

I knew that day that my performance was going to go well, instinctually I just knew but I didn’t know how. There was a special someone in the crowd I wasn’t aware of, Vincent from Luxembourg here in the city on a very rare occasion offering his services of playing the violin. He offered his violin expertise, but I had to reject at first because all I could think was, “ What if he messes me up?”

Through the luck of the draw, at the end of the night when everyone is pretty exhausted at this point, Alec plays the piano. It was in that moment, I realized if Alec played the piano then it would make sense for Vincent to play the violin.

With my heart pounding throughout the performance, I improved the first half of my poem into a song and then went into my spoken word. Truly a special night and one near and dear to me, as this is the highlight of my open mic career.

I do hope you enjoy this song as much as I do because this is the most Adele moment I’m going to get it.

If you enjoyed this, please support by tapping on the heart and turn it 💚

Email: turnbulldahlia@gmail.com

Instagram: Heart here too!

Twitter: Follow the bird!

--

--