Day 100 — Retrospective 100

Roger Tsai & Design
Daily Agile UX
Published in
6 min readJun 8, 2019
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

It’s been 100 days non-stop writing/posting in #DailyAgileUX, and I hope you’ve been enjoying this series so far!

Just a quick recap on those major weekly series I wrote about:

Design Process

https://link.medium.com/IsXiQwUTwY

Creativity

https://link.medium.com/IsXiQwUTwY

Agile

https://link.medium.com/9PYAya6TwY

Stakeholder

https://link.medium.com/KMm9dJ7TwY

Demystify

https://link.medium.com/x1y0EE9TwY

Creative PM

https://link.medium.com/aFcz64dUwY

Future of Design

https://link.medium.com/Wl8kALbUwY

Management

https://link.medium.com/ymOD2XgUwY

Product Management

https://link.medium.com/uWfLo2iUwY

Productivity

https://link.medium.com/26AIEpfUwY

The Impact: Making a Difference

As usual, I’d like to know how you think/feel about this blog series? Do you feel like there’s something interesting you learn from the series? I’m also wondering after you read these articles, what would you say/do differently?

From talking to people who have been reading this 100 day series, two of my friends would like to start writing and sharing their thoughts, three of my friends want to start some types of 100 day challenges, and one of my relatives decided to start a website for sharing her knowledge for families in need of health related information.

Challenges

The 100 day series wasn’t always easy, there were several speed bumps and hiccups, and I’d like to share how I overcame those situations for whoever want to take a new journey in life:

From Organic to Systematic

When I started the 100 day series, it wasn’t very structured; The daily topics didn’t follow a specific logic of what to write each day, except for the focus on the target audience: People who are into product innovation, Agile, and UX. However, I’m a believer of Agile and Learn by Doing, therefore through several week of experiment with reader’s feedback, I came up with the idea of weekly series that focus on a specific topic to write about.

Three benefit came out of this approach: 1) I don’t have to worry everyday about what to write the next day, 2) Through this approach I can do better research on a specific topic and provide more in-depth knowledge share; 3) Readers also know what to expect for the next day.

Photo by STIL on Unsplash

Energy and Productivity

There is research about forming a habit by repeating the same thing for 66 or 72 days straight. In the beginning of 100 day series, it consume lots of my energy, and I got exhausted. Also, although most of the content I wrote is from my past work experience, I still spent most of my weekends in the beginning, refining those content for the writing work next week.

It took me about 3 weeks to formulate a sustainable pattern in order to have a way to ensure the quality of writing, also not to burnout. I started to limit the time for picking pictures, set time box for research work, be strategic about what might interest the readers and cut the peripheral content, and find out what time of the day outside work that I’m most clear and have the best productivity.

Photo by Mikhail Pavstyuk on Unsplash

Retrospective

Personally, through this 100 day writing journey, I learned a great deal about life, work, and myself: Number one, helping people is the best investment in life. It’s the meaning & purpose that grant us true satisfactions. If we look back in life, I’d bet you remember those great experience happened when you spent time with people instead of being alone, you probably remember smiles on people’s face, instead of what physical product you own, what pleasure you got from materialism.

Photo by Jessica Castro on Unsplash

Recently in a non-religious social gathering, I heard a pastor praised a school principle: “We love her, only 10% because of her capability, and 90% because she’s just a wonderful person.” His praise for the school principle really touched me and resonate with me, and encouraged me to keep moving forward, keep trying to do the right thing: helping people whenever I can.

Image source: QuoteFancy

Number two, I learned a great deal about leadership. Whenever I start drafting a post, I always think that, “can I actually do what I say?” or “how do I make sure everything I wrote is authentic?” I recently heard a podcast from Tony Robbins’ organization, interviewing one of my favorite thought leader Simon Sinek. Simon says, “Not being authentic is plain selfish, treat others like fools.” It’s been my belief that only when I can be there for people, people will be there for me.

Image source: Pinterest

Last but not least, number three: I learned that whatever I do, it’s always teamwork; The reason why I can complete this 100 day challenges is because I have a great support network: with the support from my family, my friend, my colleague, and all of you.

Thank you

Some of my friends are very kind to continue support me, provide advice and tips to help me with better ideas to write about and how to write it well. I want to give my special thanks to several industry thought leaders Dave Malouf, Jose Coronado, & Lawrence Lipkin. Also I want to thank all the readers who have been cheering with “claps” or follow me on Medium, or pressing “likes”, follow me on LinkedIn; truly appreciate your support.

Photo by Hanny Naibaho on Unsplash

What’s Next

100 days straight with no break, means that I haven’t taken vacation for 3 months, or even enjoyed weekends for more than 3 months. I definitely owe myself and my family that. Therefore, I plan to take a short break to re-energize, a no-tech rehab with lots of reading and meditation, plus healthy diet and exercise. After that, I’ll come back with more knowledge and experience to share, in a more sustainable cadence and thoughtful topics.

Photo by Simon Rae on Unsplash

Give Me Feedback

During the no-tech rehab, I won’t be writing post here or on LinkedIn. However, if you’re interesting in certain topics, please feel free to let me know by either one of the two channels:

  1. Reply to this post: You can simply reply to this article about what your thoughts about this blog, or what questions you have about me, this blog, your career, or industry related questions - e.g Agile, UX;
  2. Connect through LinkedIn: If you don’t have a Medium account but you would like to contact me, please feel free to add me on LinkedIn. My LinkedIn page here:

See You Soon

Again, I want to thank you for all your support, and I’ll see you soon! Have a wonderful life!

Photo by Elevate on Unsplash

The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author. They do not represent current or previous client or employer views.

--

--