Becoming a Mother

Growing a Child Under my Heart (Poem)

Deborah Christensen
Daily Connect
1 min readJan 2, 2019

--

I carry you inside
wrapped up tight
inside my womb.
You curl like a question mark
containing all that you will become.

You will always stay
in my heart,
whether you are
inside me, in my arms,
or, far away.

You will be you
and I will be me,
but, forever
we will
be linked.

My flesh nourished you.
You slept with the beat
of my heart.
My lungs were your lifeline,
my food your sustenance.

You grew inside
and then emerged
into the outside world,
no longer connected.
A separate self.

Little boy, full of life
I am me, you are you.
Flesh of my flesh,
bone of my bones.

Child of Mine.

--

--

Deborah Christensen
Daily Connect

Artist, Poet, Writer, Loving all things meditation and energy