My Faith is Only The Size of a Mustard Seed

Deborah Christensen
Recovery from Harmful Religion
2 min readMar 11, 2019

“Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible” ~ Matthew 17:20

So today, my faith is only the size of a mustard seed. A mustard seed is so small that it is nearly impossible to pick one tiny seed up on its own.

Photo by Joshua Lanzarini on Unsplash

But I am holding onto the thought, that all I need is a spark. A tiny bit of hope.

Look at the beautiful field of yellow blooms of the mustard plants in flower!

A whole plant can grow from one tiny seed.

I am hoping that the seed in my heart will grow into something beautiful. It is so small I cannot feel it, I am only just aware of its presence today.

And that is enough.

I have to believe it is enough to hold onto faith in something greater than myself, in some higher purpose, in some meaning, even if I am not aware of what it is yet.

And one day I will bloom like the beautiful yellow flowers.

But today it is enough that I nurture the tiny non-blooming seed in my heart and keep it safe.

--

--