My Favorite 10 Stories I Wrote on Medium

When I Love Writing The Best: Being in ‘The Flow’

Deborah Christensen
Daily Connect
4 min readJan 11, 2019

--

What I LIke The Best: Pixabay

“Those who flow as life flows know they need no other force.” ~ Lao Tzu

Hello. I don’t often talk to you directly when I write but for this post, I am going to.

The stories that I have enjoyed writing the most on Medium are not necessarily the ones that have earned the most money or been the most popular. Some of my favorite stories have hardly been seen.

However, the reason I keep writing and that I love writing is for these stories, and these moments when I am in the flow when time ceases to exist when I get lost in words, and I feel like my fingers are possessed.

It is for these moments that I write. When the love of writing consumes me, and I feel overtaken by something greater than myself. The words are coming through me, in spite of me, and I am a conduit in their service.

These are the ten stories that I have enjoyed writing the most out of the 106 stories I have published in the last two months on Medium. These are the stories I wrote when I was in the magic grip of ‘the flow.’

  1. A favorite poet of mine is Kahlil Gibran. I meditated on a saying of his and wrote this piece after reflecting on what the saying meant to me.

2. A dear friend wrote a letter to me nearly two years ago asking my inner child what she would say if she were to be released from the extra flesh surrounding her? I wrote this piece as my latest response to that question.

3. I wrote this piece after being intensely frustrated, angered and deeply saddened reading so many friends and family’s ideological posts (memes) on Facebook ‘against’ so many different things. In the midst of Trumpism and Brexit, it also felt poignant and timely.

4. I cuddle up to my husband each morning in bed and I muse on the wonder of such a thing to bring so much comfort, warmth and meaning to my life.

5. On a recent off the grid holiday with my husband, we lay on the bed resting and listened to an afternoon sun shower as it pelted the ground for a couple of minutes before the sun once again shone.

6. I can be so mean to myself for allowing my body to put on extra weight as a coping mechanism over the years. Learning to love myself as I am is the key to my losing weight and becoming more healthy. I was inspired to write this piece after reading a poem written by a woman looking at her body one morning in the shower (contained within this story).

7. Over a period of a month I read two quotes by different people that at first appeared diametrically opposed but as they flit in and out of my mind over this time, I realized that they actually were speaking about the same thing. A spiritual musing and reflection on the meaning of life.

8. I wrote this poetic reflection on how I find being in wild places so healing whenever I experience being in nature for a period of time.

9. Last year I found myself caring for a fledgling blue-necked honeyeater that I was unsure was going to survive due to its young age and inability to fly. This story was written straight after the experience when my heart was still full and overflowing with emotion.

10. A love letter to the man I am lucky enough to be married to. It was written due to my sadness that sometimes he cannot see himself through my eyes and my wish and desire that he could see himself as I see him.

Thank you for taking the time to read.

I do appreciate everyone who reads and especially those who comment. Being able to put into words how I feel about life and experiences within my life is a privilege and a joy that I do not find in many other places.

So, thank you for allowing me to be able to do this!

“Going with the flow is responding to cues from the universe. When you go with the flow, you’re surfing life force. It’s about wakeful trust and total collaboration with what’s showing up for you.” ~ Danielle LaPorte

--

--

Deborah Christensen
Daily Connect

Artist, Poet, Writer, Loving all things meditation and energy