#215.“Reach for the moon! Even if you miss you’ll land among the stars.”

That’s stupid. Don’t settle.

Josiah Ross
Daily Cup of Jo
2 min readMar 4, 2017

--

I hate the quote that goes “Reach for the moon! Even if you miss you’ll land among the stars.” To some people, that quote speaks of success. I don’t see it that way. To me, that quote speaks of settling.

If I’m reaching for the moon, I want to touch the moon, I’m not interested in the stars. If my goal was to run a marathon, I wouldn’t settle for a half-marathon. It doesn’t matter how big or small your goal is, don’t settle. Settling is a one-way ticket to depression.

This is your life, don’t play around with it. If you want something, and you put in the work for it, don’t just settle for anything less than you worked for. If your goal is too big, you have two choices: work harder or change your goal. Settling shouldn’t be an option.

Failure is more useful than settling. A failure is truly a success if you learn from it. There’s no benefit to settling. Settling is equivalent to giving up. You don’t learn anything from giving up. You do learn something from failing. Giving up has no value. Don’t give up. Even failure is a better option. Don’t settle. That’s stupid.

If you enjoyed this article, please show your support by hitting that heart at the bottom of your screen! Follow me for more great content.

--

--