#434. I hate when people think they know what you’re thinking

Josiah Ross
Daily Cup of Jo
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2017

I guess this happens to me more than another person because I write. Writing is naturally an extension of your thoughts, so it’s more understandable that people do this after reading my writing. The funny thing is, it’s not less annoying.

It’s hard not to assume what another person is thinking. But you can only make assumptions based on the information that you know.

No matter how close you are to someone, you don’t know every little thought that goes through their head. The more you know someone, the easier it is to assume what there thought process might be. But even then, it’s just an assumption.

Assumptions are usually harmless. Unfortunately, there are some people that think they KNOW what you’re thinking. Every time I encounter someone like this I ask them a sarcastic, rhetorical question in my head: Oh my God! Are you the world’s first mind-reader? Since no one can actually read my mind, they don’t hear the question I’m screaming in my mind. I can only wonder what they would say if they could actually read my mind

You don’t know what I’m thinking.

You can make an assumption. Maybe even an accurate one. But you’ll never know for sure.

Unless you really are a mind-reader.

If you enjoyed this article, please show your support by pressing the clap button a few times! Follow my Medium and Patreon pages for great content daily. Visit the Nagiyd Store for amazing apparel.

--

--