#435. I used to be scared of the dark

Josiah Ross
Daily Cup of Jo
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2017

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

-1 Corinthians 13:11

I’m not a man yet, but I’m growing.

Sure my limbs have grown, but the growth in my mindset is most important.

Today I took out the trash in the dark. I wasn’t scared at all. The dark, which had one time seemed so daunting, so challenging, so scary, was nothing more than a part of reality.

Then I realized something.

I’m not scared of the dark anymore.

I imagine that dark hasn’t been a concern since I was a toddler, but I hadn’t realized it until now. Fear of the dark is childish. It’s something that occurs when a person finally realizes all the possibilities of the dark. Fear of the dark is fear of uncertainty. You can’t see in the dark, so you don’t feel so secure.

That’s the difference between me as a child and me as a young adult. I’m not scared anymore. I’m secure.

If you enjoyed this article, please show your support by pressing the clap button a few times! Follow my Medium and Patreon pages for great content daily. Visit the Nagiyd Store for amazing apparel.

--

--